STIGQter STIGQter: STIG Summary: Apple iOS/iPadOS 26 Security Technical Implementation Guide Version: 1 Release: 3 Benchmark Date: 13 May 2026:

Apple iOS/iPadOS 26 must disable the ability of the user to wipe the device.

DISA Rule

SV-278832r1151199_rule

Vulnerability Number

V-278832

Group Title

PP-MDF-993300

Rule Version

AIOS-26-016000

Severity

CAT II

CCI(s)

Weight

10

Fix Recommendation

Install a configuration profile to disable "Allow Erase All Content and Settings". This is a supervised-only control.

Configuration Profile Key: allowEraseCointentAndSettings

Check Contents

Review configuration settings to confirm it is disabled.

This is a supervised-only control. If the iPhone or iPad being reviewed is not supervised by the MDM, this control is automatically a finding.

If the iPhone or iPad being reviewed is supervised by the MDM, follow these procedures:

This check procedure is performed on both the device management tool and the iPhone and iPad device.

Note: If an organization has multiple configuration profiles, the check procedure must be performed on the relevant configuration profiles applicable to the scope of the review.

In the iOS/iPadOS management tool, verify "Allow erase all content and settings" is unchecked.

On the iPhone/iPad device:
1. Open the Settings app.
2. Tap "General".
3. Tap "VPN & Device Management".
4. Tap the Configuration Profile from the iOS management tool containing the restrictions policy.
5. Tap "Restrictions".
6. Verify "Erase content and settings not allowed" is listed.

If "Allow erase all content and settings" is not disabled in the management tool or on the Apple device "Erase content and settings not allowed" is not listed, this is a finding.

Vulnerability Number

V-278832

Documentable

False

Rule Version

AIOS-26-016000

Severity Override Guidance

Review configuration settings to confirm it is disabled.

This is a supervised-only control. If the iPhone or iPad being reviewed is not supervised by the MDM, this control is automatically a finding.

If the iPhone or iPad being reviewed is supervised by the MDM, follow these procedures:

This check procedure is performed on both the device management tool and the iPhone and iPad device.

Note: If an organization has multiple configuration profiles, the check procedure must be performed on the relevant configuration profiles applicable to the scope of the review.

In the iOS/iPadOS management tool, verify "Allow erase all content and settings" is unchecked.

On the iPhone/iPad device:
1. Open the Settings app.
2. Tap "General".
3. Tap "VPN & Device Management".
4. Tap the Configuration Profile from the iOS management tool containing the restrictions policy.
5. Tap "Restrictions".
6. Verify "Erase content and settings not allowed" is listed.

If "Allow erase all content and settings" is not disabled in the management tool or on the Apple device "Erase content and settings not allowed" is not listed, this is a finding.

Check Content Reference

M

Target Key

5723